Jiggling my Jiggly Bits

I wrote a post on New Years eve about Finding your Inner Goddess where I made a promise to try one thing this year – and that was to step out of my comfort zone.

Well the good news is that I have in fact accepted the challenge and conquered it!  I attended my first Belly Dancing workshop last weekend.  There were about 20 of us there – some had been dancing for awhile and others, like me, were new.  There I stood in my black leggings and a tight  strappy black top – not the prettiest of sights I must say.  You could see every roll of – well lets just leave the rest to your imagination here…..

Jiggle

The other ladies were all wearing coin belts or pretty shawls around their waists (note to self – go shopping for a pretty shawl or something).  Then the lesson started.  The instructors name is Natalie and she is brilliant.  She was quite tall and not what I pictured as a dance instructor – she has curves and didn’t look like a stick. She made every move look so easy and made us feel at ease.

I have no rhythm, 2 left feet and am as graceful as an elephant.  But somehow it didn’t matter.  I loved every moment of it.  And the best of all was that I felt like I had potential.  I can see myself all dressed up on a stage in time to come jiggling my jiggly bits and not being embarrassed by it.

Can’t wait for the next lesson – Look out world – here I come….

19 thoughts on “Jiggling my Jiggly Bits

  1. As Joeh mentioned you need to get it all on video week by week. After a couple of months you'll be surprised how much you have excelled. Good on ya for having a go. Jangle those hips girl, ha ha ha.

  2. SWEEET!!!! I love that you're adventurous and took this step. I've always wanted to try belly dancing but my belly is WAY too big and i feel it jiggle regardless. I'm so excited for you and proud of you. How fun.

  3. I'm so excited for you! You did it!!! I'm supposed to be starting Zumba in a few weeks with my daughter. I've decided to re-think my wardrobe though after reading this. Guess my leggings and "Squirrel Whisperer" t-shirt would be inappropriate. Time to go shopping….

  4. Hi Kelly. We have just started with some choreography and it is really difficult. I have 2 left feet and find it very difficult remembering the steps. I am going to persevere though for at least a year.

  5. Belly Dancing looks sooo hard! I have no idea how women do it, but it looks great. Love the Jiggle! We love your blog and added your to our blog roll. Just click on "Blogs that we Read" and scroll down. It is in the Personal/Miscellaneous section. We used your button. Keep up the good work and thanks for stopping by our blog! Matt

  6. Belly Dancing is a bit of a challenge for me. Not the movements so much, but it is really fast and I am also useless when it comes to the choreography. Getting there though – Practice, practice, practice!Thanks for adding me to your blog roll – really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

